2013 Reno Project #1: Laundry Room

I don’t have any “before” pictures of the laundry room. It’s just too embarrassing. Let’s suffice it to say that it was dingy, dark, cramped, and generally unpleasant.

Here is the finished product!

Image

This is the new cabinet that we put over the washer and dryer. The solid wooden doors came from the old cabinets that used to hang from the ceiling between the kitchen and breakfast area. There were two other doors in that set of cabinets that we used on a freestanding cabinet we put in the kitchen. Reusing the old doors both saved money and helped improve continuity with the kitchen, which the laundry room opens off of. We also painted the cabinet the same color as the kitchen cabinets. The door in the middle uses a pane of glass that was in a cabinet of my great-grandfather’s. Throughout my childhood, this cabinet stood in the corner of my grandmother’s kitchen. My grandfather kept it stocked with “eater snacks,” or those packages of six peanut-butter-and-crackers, and he would urge me to have one with a glass-bottle Coke every time I came to visit. It makes me happy that we were able to preserve this piece of family history in our own house.

Image

This bell pull was made by my grandmother. She was a talented needleworker and quilter, and I am proud to be able to display her work here! Here is a closeup of the crewel embroidery:

Image

We replaced one long shelf with three shorter shelves, and placed colorful cloth baskets on them for storage. It looks much better than the previous storage area, and is more practical, too!

Image

We also added this place to hang brooms, mops, dust mops, etc.

Image

The strings make them easier to hang. Never underestimate the importance of a convenient place to keep your low-tech tools!

We wanted to bring some color into the room, but were concerned about how difficult it would be to do a good enough job on the walls with all of the appliances in the small room. Therefore, we just painted over the walls with a fresh coat of cream, and took this bright turquoise paint the the ceiling! This is a great way to brighten up a small room like this. It lights up the space without overwhelming it.

I’m very pleased with how it turned out! I suppose you can’t really see the true impact without the before picture, but just trust me on this one! I must say we were fortunate to be able to utilize my father’s carpentry skills on the cabinet. Nothing beats being able to do work for yourself – because of both cost and achievement!

Leave a Reply

